Skuggsjá enter Billboard Charts and Einar Selvik appears in ‘Vikings’ episode

Skuggsjá enter Billboard Charts and Einar Selvik appears in 'Vikings' episode

IVAR BJØRNSON & EINAR SELVIK’S SKUGGSJÁ , the thrilling and tempestuous collaboration between ENSLAVED and WARDRUNA have entered the top ten of the US Billboard World Music Chart last week with their debut full-length ‘ Skuggsjá‘, which was released worldwide on March 11th. Season of Mist proudly congratulates the Norwegians on their success!

On further news, Einar Selvik of SKUGGSJÁ and WARDRUNA was featured on last week’s episode of The History Channel’s acclaimed TV-series ‘Vikings‘. Spoiler warning: Einar can be seen singing off the Viking long-ships to war in season 4, episode #6 “What Might Have Been”. His performance is starting at 12:30 minutes.

Artwork and tracklist of ‘ Skuggsjá’ can both be viewed below. The cover has been designed by the renowned Romanian artist Costin Chioreanu.

1. Intro: Ull Kjem
2. Skuggsjá
3. Makta Og Vanæra, For All Tid
4. Tore Hund
5. Rop Fra Røynda – Mælt Fra Minne
6. Skuggeslåtten (instrumental)
7. Kvervandi
8. Vitkispá
9. Bøn Om Ending, Bøn Om Byrjing
10. Outro: Ull Gjekk

Bonus tracks deluxe Digipak
11. Skaldens Song Til Tore Hund
12. Quantum Pasts (Rop Frå Røynda – Bardspec Ed)


When renowned musicians such as ENSLAVED guitarist / composer Ivar Bjørnson and Einar Selvik – the mastermind behind WARDRUNA, which gained attention far beyond the world of music for their contributions to the score of the acclaimed ‘Vikings’ TV-series – join forces, the outcome is far too easily dismissed in advance as a “super project”.

Yet with SKUGGSJÁ the two Norwegians have clearly not only successfully combined their musical handwriting, but the sum of the duo’s craft is more than its already outstanding parts. Both are adding sonic expressions to the other’s sound that are enhancing their excellent songwriting into something new. Harsh metal guitars seem to effortlessly connect with ancient instruments and the emerging intricate patterns are reminiscent of the intertwined, whirling and deeply fascinating Viking age animal styles translated into songs. The result is a richly evocative sonic tapestry for the mind to wander on and create images of a long gone past without any misplaced nostalgia.

Skuggsjá‘ was originally conceived as a commissioned musical work written by Ivar Bjørnson and Einar Selvik. The arrangement was performed by ENSLAVED and WARDRUNA as a concert piece in commemoration of the 200th anniversary of the Norwegian constitution at the Eidsivablot festival in Eidsvoll, Norway on September 13th, 2014.

The growing desire to present SKUGGSJÁ to a broader audience has ultimately led Bjørnson and Selvik to record their work in its entirety. The word “Skuggsjá” translates into “mirror” or “reflection” in the Norse tongue.

By highlighting ideas, traditions and instruments of their Norse past, SKUGGSJÁ speak of the history of Norway and reflect relevant aspects from the past into our present day. Using metal instrumentation as well as some of Scandinavia’s oldest instruments and poetry in Norse and Norwegian, ‘Skuggsjá’ represents a fusion between past and present, both lyrically and musically.

Ivar Bjørnson: vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards
Einar Selvik: vocals, taglharpa, Kravik-lyre, goat-horn, birch-bark lure, bone-flute, percussion, electronics

Contributing musicians
Grutle Kjellson: vocals
Lindy-Fay Hella: vocals
Eilif Gundersen: birch bark lure
Olav L. Mjelva: Harding fiddle
Cato Bekkevold: drums 


SKUGGSJÁ  have already been confirmed for the exceptional Midgardsblot Metalfestival at the historic Viking age site of Borre, Norway, August 18 – 20, 2016.

More live dates will be announced shortly.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *