Album Review: King Diamond – Dreams Of Horror

King Diamond - Dreams of Horror

Band: King Diamond

Album: Dreams Of Horror

Release Date: November 11, 2014

Label: Metal Blade Records

What an amazing year it has been for new releases! Metal legends from yesteryear like Judas Priest, Overkill, Exodus, and Obituary have all put out some slamming good albums for us this year, proving that just because you’re getting older, doesn’t mean you still can’t ROCK! In addition to hearing new tunes from old school rockers, we have also been blessed with the triumphant return of one of heavy metal’s most iconic bands and individuals. Of course, I am referring to none other than the mighty King Diamond. Even if you aren’t a fan of the King’s signature falsetto type vocals (which I happen to be a HUGE fan of, by the way), you still can’t pass up the fact that the music is top notch and unique. The combination of Andy LaRocque and Mike Wead’s guitar skills place them on top as some of metal’s greatest axe-men; Matt Thompson’s precision behind the drums rank him as one of the best and most under rated drummers out there. Having just added Pontus Egberg on the bass to replace long time KD bassist Hal Patino, some fans were concerned that may have ended up changing the way the music sounded… but I can assure you that Pontus is a FANTASTIC choice and an incredible player. And of course, the powerful pipes on the King himself, Kim Petersen, are what really make this band one of the most unique organizations in the industry. In order to fully appreciate what the metal community has in a band like King Diamond, we must first appreciate just how close we came to losing it.

In 2007, following the release of the album “Give Me Your Soul…Please”, King was forced to cancel the tour cycle in support of the album due to a herniated disc, which caused him sever back pain. Then in November of 2010, he was taken to the hospital where several blockages were found in his arteries, caused from years of heavy smoking. The King underwent triple-bypass heart surgery to clean the blockages and the days and months afterward left the world wondering if he was ever going to be able to sing or tour again. But Kim Petersen is no slouch, as he proved in just two short years when he performed at Sweden Rock Festival in June 2012 for his comeback concert. This was only the beginning of the Kings’ triumphant return from near death, and he slowly but surely began getting more involved with music, and even recorded a track with fellow Danes, Volbeat for the song “Room 24” on the album “Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies” which was released in 2013. But perhaps one of the greatest bits of news that we heard coming from the King Diamond camp, was in early 2014 when King announced that he would be doing a tour in North America starting October 1st… the first time since 2005 that the band played this continent. Needless to say, the news was met with an amazing response and venues began selling out quickly once tickets went on sale. I was fortunate enough to be at the very first show of the tour, which was a sold out performance in Atlanta, GA. It ranks as the single most amazing concert experience I have ever had!

But enough about the King’s return to his rightful place amongst metal’s most elite… the main reason I am writing this is to tell you about the very first “best of” King Diamond album! This record will feature a two CD collection of 23 songs that have been masterfully enhanced and mixed by the King himself, and Andy LaRocque. And when I say “masterfully enhanced”, I mean that the greatness of King Diamond has never sounded so good! In cooperation with Metal Blade Records, this special collection of King’s greatest hits will be available for purchase on November 11, 2014.. but you can get a jump start and pre-order the album now. You will secure your two-disc album, along with an exclusive t-shirt that is only available when you pre-order. This collection is a must have for any fan of the King. The track listings provide you with a wide array of KD classics:

01. The Candle
02. Dressed in White
03. The Family Ghost
04. Black Horsemen
05. Welcome Home
06. The Invisible Guests
07. At the Graves
08. Sleepless Nights
09. Let It Be Done
10. Eye of the Witch
11. Insanity

01. Dreams
02. The Spider’s Lullabye
03. Waiting
04. Heads on the Wall
05. Voodoo
06. Black Devil
07. Help!!!
08. Spirits
09. The Puppet Master
10. Blue Eyes
11. Never Ending Hill
12. Shapes of Black

As you can see, the songs on the record span the entire career of the band and offer an amazing array of classic hits. This will be sure to stay in your CD player for along time!

Stop by King Diamond’s official website and join the Coven to stay up to date on all upcoming news coming from the band. I have even heard that there will be BRAND NEW songs being recorded for a 2015 release, and I can’t wait to hear them!

My rating for “Dreams Of Horror”: 8/10

About Trev McKendry

Trev McKendry is the CEO of Metal Nation and also a radio personality on Metal Nation Radio

This entry was posted in Album Reviews, News, Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Album Review: King Diamond – Dreams Of Horror

  1. Dan White says:

    Good article Jesse. It’s been a couple year’s since I noticed the King doing new music. After reading your piece I am excited to hear the new material as I am sure it is going to be classic King Diamond.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *